Erislandy Lara vs Jarrett Hurd wins BWAA 2018 Fight of the Year

Facebook Twitter Pinterest LinkedIn Email

Erislandy Lara and Jarrett Hurd produced nonstop fireworks in their riveting 2018 unification bout that saw Hurd emerge a split-decision winner.

In a year full of great bouts, one stood above the rest.

Premier Boxing Champions would like to congratulate “Swift” Jarrett Hurd and Erislandy Lara, winners of the Boxing Writers Association of America’s 2018 Fight of the Year.

It took place April 7th, at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada. Lara, the WBA super welterweight champion, was a slight favorite to unify versus Hurd, his IBF counterpart.

What ensued was a thrilling back and forth that left viewers on the edge of their seat—if they were sitting at all.

The southpaw Lara, ever the sophisticated boxer, jumped out to an early lead, timing the aggressive Hurd with sharp counterpunches. But “Swift” never stopped coming, shifting momentum in his favor with his pressure-cooker style.

Lara held a slight lead as the fight entered the twelfth and final frame. That changed when Hurd uncorked a short left hook midway through the stanza, introducing Lara to the mat for the bout’s only knockdown.

Lara would rise and make it out of the round, but that extra point proved to be the difference. Judge Burt Clements scored it 114-113 for “The American Dream.” Glen Feldman and Dave Moretti both had it 114-113 for Hurd, awarding the Accokeek, Maryland native a split decision win that unified super welterweight titles and made Hurd “The Man” in the division. But no matter how the judges scored it, there were no real losers on this night; the fans who witnessed this encounter were the biggest winners of them all.

For a closer look at Lara vs Hurd, check out our fight page.

Subscribe to RSS
Related News